Skip to Navigation Skip to Main Content

Texas State Board of
Podiatric Medical Examiners

Physical Address: 333 Guadalupe, Suite #2-320; Austin, Texas 78701
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 12216; Austin, Texas 78711
Phone: (512)-305-7000
Facsimile: (512)-305-7003
www.tsbpme.texas.gov

Board Information
Compact With Texans
Complaints
Contact Us
Questions & Answers
License Verifications
Licensing
License Renewals
Radiology Technicians
Open Records
Statute & Rules
Continuing Education
General Information
Statewide Search
Employment Opportunities



Home

REGULATORY UPDATES / NOTICES BULLETIN:
LICENSE & REGISTRATION RENEWALS:
♦ FY 2017 "Texas DPM" Podiatric Physician License Renewals:
Begins on September 1, 2016 @ 12:00 a.m.
Deadline is November 1, 2016 @ 11:59 p.m.
♦ FY 2017 Regular "Active" Renewal Fee = $530.00.
♦ FY 2016 (Prior Year) & FY 2017 "Delinquent" (Phase 3) Renewal Fee = $1,564.00 (Full Late Renewal Penalty Fees).
♦ To Renew Your "Texas DPM" License & To "Update Your DPM Physician Profile":
    ♦ "GO - ONLINE" ♦
  Annual Renewal Deadlines by License / Registration Type:  Deadline (@ Midnight):  Renewal Notices Mailed:  Renewal Method:

  Podiatric Physician License (Texas DPM - Podiatric Physician)

 November 1st  September 1 st (Yellow Postcard)  Online (Texas.Gov)

 ▪ Radiology Technician Registration (RadTech - Xray)

 December 31st  November 1 st (Paper Form)  Paper Form

 ▪ Hyperbaric Oxygen Registration (DPM - HBO)

 January 31st  December 1 st (Paper Form)  Paper Form

 ▪ Nitrous Oxide Registration (DPM - N2O)

 January 31st  December 1 st (Paper Form)  Paper Form

 ▪ Podiatry Resident License (DPM - Temporary)

 June 30 th  May 1 st (Paper Form)  Paper Form

CHANGE YOUR ADDRESS
Mail/fax form to Board office. For address changes occurring after license renewal.


DUPLICATE LICENSE (due to loss/destruction/theft) or an AMENDED LICENSE (due to lawful name change). ← Mail form to Board office along with the applicable fee.

Voluntary License Cancellation. In order to "Voluntarily Cancel" your Texas Podiatry License, the licensee must submit a signed letter (via certified mail) to Board staff requesting "Cancellation". You will receive a letter of confirmation from the Board. Any licensee in a "Cancelled" status shall not practice Podiatric Medicine; criminal act pursuant to Texas Occupations Code §202.605. "Cancelled" licensees are required to fully re-apply for licensure. That includes re-taking the TSBPME jurisprudence examination and having completed a one-year residency program accredited by CPME.
REGULATORY UPDATES:

♦ Texas Veterans Portal & Military Service Members/Veterans & Military Spouses Information. Visit the Board's "Veterans" webpage to obtain additional information for Texas Veterans & Military Service Members/Veterans & Military Spouses.

♦ Prescriptions/Controlled Substances Information.
Visit the Board's "Prescription Information" webpage to obtain additional information on changes to the Texas Prescription Program, Ordering Controlled Substances Prescription Pads, Registering for the New Prescription Drug Monitoring Program Database, Abuse/Misuse of Prescriptions/Pain Medications & Drug Diversion Prevention,  Prescribing Compounded Medications & Health Care Fraud, Controlled Substances Schedule Changes and all other information related to Prescriptions/Controlled Substances.

♦ DPS & FBI Fingerprint Criminal History Background Check Information. Visit the Board's "Criminal History/Getting Fingerprinted" webpage to obtain Criminal History Record Information - Policies & Consequences of Criminal Conviction - Information.

♦ Scope of Practice & Additional Regulatory Information. Visit the Board's "Questions & Answers" webpage for scope of practice and additional regulatory information.

♦ Report Suspected "Medicare / Medicaid Fraud, Waste & Abuse". Health Care Fraud is a nationwide problem of theft from public (Medicare/Medicaid; taxpayer funded) and private health care systems. 1) Call toll free 1-800-HHS-TIPS (1-800-447-8477); 2) This service is a product of the United States Department of Health & Human Services - Office of Inspector General; 3) Related Healthcare Fraud topics can be found HERE on the Board's "Questions & Answers" webpage. (Review Q&A #6; #20 & #28)

♦ Student Loan Default Information. Please click on the highlighted link to obtain (state/federal) "Student Loan Default" information. Licensees must meet and pay all Student Loan obligations; failure to do so will result in investigation/disciplinary action of your license.

♦ Child Support Default/Delinquency Information. Please click on the highlighted link to obtain "Child Support Default/Delinquency" information. Licensees must meet and pay all Child Support obligations; failure to do so will result in investigation/disciplinary action of your license.

♦ HIPAA - General Information. Click here to view Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) "HIPAA-General Information."

♦ Texas Medical Records Privacy Act (HB300 - 82nd; TXHSC Ch. 181). The Texas Medical Records Privacy Act, found in chapter 181 of the Texas Health and Safety Code was significantly amended in 2011 by passage of HB 300, effective September 1, 2012. The Office of the Attorney General's - Consumer Protection Division (OAG-CPD) formulates additional information for licensing agencies to implement HB 300. Citizens may also file a complaint with the OAG-CPD relating to Medical Records Privacy matters by clicking HERE. General Training Opportunities: The Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology's (ONC) Office of the Chief Privacy Officer (OCPO) has released its first web-based security training module, "CyberSecure: Your Medical Practice." The security training module, which was developed with the assistance of the Regional Extension Center Program’s Privacy and Security Community of Practice, uses a game format that requires users to respond to privacy and security challenges often faced in a typical small medical practice. Users choosing the right response earn points and see their virtual medical practices flourish. But users making the wrong security decisions can hurt their virtual practices. The use of gamification by ONC is an innovative approach aimed at educating health care providers to make more informed decisions regarding privacy and security of health information. http://www.healthit.gov/providers-professionals/privacy-security-training-games

 

♦ Disclosure & Consent Forms - Texas Medical Disclosure Panel. Board Rule §375.19 “Fees and Informed Consent” provides that: “(a) The podiatric physician has special knowledge which his patient does not have; therefore, to avoid misunderstanding he should advise his patient in advance of beginning treatment of the nature and extent of the treatment needed; the approximate time required to perform the recommended treatment and services; and any further or additional services or return by the patient for treatment, adjustments, or consultation and the time in which this shall occur. A podiatric physician should inform his patients as to the fees to be charged for services before the services are performed, regardless of whether the fees are charged on a case basis, on the basis of a separate charge for each service, or a combination of these two methods, or some other basis. If an exact fee for a particular service, as in extended care cases, cannot be quoted to a patient, a fair and reasonable estimate of what the fee will be and the basis on which it will be determined should be given the patient. (b) A podiatric physician shall not tender or receive a commission for a referral.” The Texas Medical Disclosure Panel publishes Rules and Forms related to "Informed Consent" under Title 25; Part 7; Chapter 601 of the Texas Administrative Code. Please click on the link for more information.

 

Sunset Review Announcement ← Effective May 4, 2016, the mission and performance of the Texas State Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners are under review by the Legislature as required under the Texas Sunset Act. The Act provides that the Sunset Commission, composed of legislators and public members, periodically evaluate a state agency to determine if the agency is still needed and to explore ways to ensure that the agency's funds are well spent. Based on the recommendations of the Sunset Commission, the Texas Legislature ultimately decides whether an agency continues to operate into the future.

♦ Fluoroscopically-Guided Interventional (FGI) Mandatory Safety Awareness Training. Effective May 1, 2013, the Texas Department of State Health Services - Radiation Control Program (DSHS-RCP) is requiring all practitioners who utilize Fluoroscopically-Guided Interventional (FGI) procedures to complete mandatory Radiation Safety Awareness Training by May 1, 2015. Only Board Certified Radiologists & Radiation Oncologists (MD/DO) are exempted from the mandatory training given their radiation safety training as part of their education. This mandatory Radiation Safety Awareness Training is a one-time requirement and entails an 8-Hour Category 1 CME course as well as completion of 1-Hour of "hands-on" training by a Radiologist, Licensed Medical Physicist or a Physician (MD/DO) who has completed the mandatory training. [DSHS-RCP Rule 25 Texas Administrative Code; Part 1; Chapter 289; Subchapter E; §289.227(m)(9)(E).]DSHS-RCP Rule 25 Texas Administrative Code; Part 1; Chapter 289; Subchapter E; §289.227(e)(36) “Use of Radiation Machines in the Healing Arts” – “Definitions” provides that: “Fluoroscopically-Guided Interventional (FGI) Procedures -- An interventional diagnostic or therapeutic procedure performed via percutaneous or other access routes, usually with local anesthesia or intravenous sedation, which uses external ionizing radiation in the form of fluoroscopy to localize or characterize a lesion, diagnostic site, or treatment site, to monitor the procedure, and to control and document therapy. FGI procedures may include but not be limited to: (A) TIPS creation (transjugular intrahepatic portosystemic shunt); (B) Embolization (any location, any lesion); (C) Stroke therapy; (D) Biliary drainage; (E) Angioplasty with or without stent placement; (F) Stent-graft placement; (G) Chemoembolization; (H) Angiography and intervention for gastrointestinal hemorrhage; (I) Carotid stent placement; (J) RF (radiofrequency) cardiac ablation; (K) Complex placement of cardiac EP (electrophysiology) devices; and (L) PCI (percutaneous coronary intervention) (single or multiple vessel).” DSHS-RCP has advised most fluoroscopic procedures fall under the definition of FGI. To determine if you utilize FGI, one helpful exercise is to break the definition of FGI down into segments and determine if the procedures you perform include any part of the definition.  If so, then you are doing an FGI procedure and are required to complete the mandatory DSHS-RCP Radiation Safety Awareness Training. Texas Podiatrists utilizing FGI are required to complete this mandatory DSHS-RCP Radiation Safety Training and will receive 100% TSBPME CME credit. UPDATE. [Posted 01/14/2015 @ 4:46 PM] DSHS-RCP has delayed the implementation of the Radiation Safety Awareness Training indefinitely. Click HERE for more information.